Advance poll open Sunday for LBPSB election

By Robert Frank

Eligible voters will be able to cast their ballot, Oct. 26, in the advance poll for the Lester B. Pearson School Board (LBPSB) election.

The polling stations are scheduled to open on Sunday at noon, and remain open until 8 p.m.

The main poll will take place the following week, on Sunday, Nov. 2, when the polls will open at 10 a.m. and close at 8 p.m.

Voters must visit their local polling stations in each of the nine school districts where the job of commissioner is being contested. There, they will get to cast their ballot to decide who will represent them as commissioner for their local school district.

The will also vote for the person whom they want to chair the school board. The three candidates for chair are Chris Eustace, Angela Nolet and Suanne Stein Day.

Candidates for both off-island school districts were acclaimed, so the poll there will only help to decide who gets to be the next LBPSB chairman.

In addition, last week outgoing commissioner Don Rae officially dropped out of the election race in District 8, which comprises Beaconsfield north of Highway 20 and Kirkland
south of Highway 40. Rae’s departure from the race gave the seat by acclamation to outgoing LBPSB executive committee chair Marty Sherman.

The address where you can vote in an advance poll as well as the date and time of the general poll were indicated on the elector’s notice that eligible voters ought to have received in the mail.

School board election officials are also supposed to send you a reminder card that you ought to receive no later than two days before polling day.

More information on the advance poll is available by visiting the LBPSB election office at 5000 René Huguet in Lachine or by calling [514] 780-8683.
(i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o),

ga(‘create’, ‘UA-45892555-1’, ‘auto’);
ga(‘send’, ‘pageview’);

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial