23 candidates vie to become LBPSB commissioners

23 candidates vie to become LBPSB commissioners

Two more acclaimed

By Robert Frank

Lester B. Pearson School Board (LBPSB) returning officer Remi Poliquin has declared both candidates who tossed their hat in the ring for the school board’s two off-island school commissioner positions acclaimed.

After nominations closed at 5 p.m., Sunday, Sept. 28, longtime school commissioner Daniel Olivenstein was unopposed to represent District 11, which comprises Hudson, Rigaud and St. Lazare. Newcomer Wayne Clifford was also the only candidate in District 12, which spans the remainder of the vast off-island territory as well as Pincourt.

Four candidates will face off against one another in Verdun and eastern Lasalle in LBPSB’s most crowded race for election in District 1. Incumbent Sergio Borja is opposed there by Jim Bytheway, Mary Ann Davis and Bob Dubois.

In western LaSalle and northeastern Lachine, two current commissioners Frank di Bello and Ruben Fazio will compete for one spot in District 2.

In District 3, which comprises Dorval and the rest of Lachine, incumbent Patrick Witham will be challenged by university student Joshua Arless.

North of the tracks in Pointe Claire, Craig Buchanan will vie with Noel Burke for election in District 4.

Running in Roxboro, which makes up most of District 5, as well as a bit of northeastern Dollard des Ormeaux, are current commissioner Nan Beaton as well as Martha Bond and David-James Smith.

District 6, most of which is in Dollard des Ormeaux, also sees two current commissioners competing for a single slot: Craig Berger and Ruth Dangoor.

Likewise, two current commissioners, Laura Derry and Linton Garner, will fight it out to represent District 7, which spans bits of Pierrefonds, Dollard des Ormeaux, Pointe Claire and Kirkland (see map).

In District 8, which comprises southern Kirkland, Beaconsfield north of the tracks and a mostly-uninhabited slice of southwestern Pointe Claire, two more current commissioners, Don Rae and Martin Sherman are in the race for a single seat.

The Lakeshore bits of Pointe Claire, Beaconsfield, Baie d’Urfé and Sainte Anne de Belelvue south of the tracks will be where recently nominated serving commissioner Eric Bender will run against Marc Lucke.

Finally, current commissioner Domenic Pavone is running against Margot Place in District 10, which includes Senneville, western Kirkland and Pierrefonds, and the parts of Sainte Anne de Bellevue and Baie d’Urfé that lie north of the tracks.
(i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o),

ga(‘create’, ‘UA-45892555-1’, ‘auto’);
ga(‘send’, ‘pageview’);

[Editor’s note: Daniel Olivenstein given name was incorrectly reported as David in an earlier version of this report]

uring the week of Oct. 13, outgoing commissioner Don Rae officially dropped out of the election race in District 8, which comprises Beaconsfield north of Highway 20 and Kirkland south of Highway 40. Rae’s departure from the race gave the seat by acclamation to outgoing LBPSB executive committee chair Marty Sherman.]

Daniel Olivenstein was acclaimed to represent Hudson, St. Lazare and Rigaud on LBPSB council.
(Photo © Robert Frank)
Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial