Mouvement Lavallois sweeps to victory

By Geneviève April

Laval’s new mayor Marc Demers, leader of the Mouvement lavallois party, won the historic municipal election with a large plurality of 44.2% of the votes, followed by Action Laval’s Jean-Claude Gobé, with 24.3%. Robert Bordeleau (Parti au Service du Citoyen) and Claire Le Bel (Option Laval) trailed far behind, with 10.9% and 12.4% respectively.

Independent candidate Jacques Foucher, who made the headlines after being spurned at the Chamber of commerce debate, grabbed a meagre 3.2% of the votes.

Of the 21 council seats available, 17 were taken by Mouvement lavallois, two by independent candidates, and two by Action Laval, making that party the official opposition at city hall.

Saint François district will continue to be represented by Jacques St. Jean (33.9%). St. Jean, who was counsellor under the Vaillancourt administration, was running as independent. He is now the last former member of Vaillancourt’s now-disbanded PRO party remaining on city council.

Michel Trottier (29.3%), an independent, won Fabreville district. St. Vincent de Paul elected Paolo Galati (29.4%), and Chomedey residents overwhelmingly opted for Aglaia Revelakis (49,4%), both members of the Action Laval slate. The results took unusually long to tally, due to delays opening ballots at city hall.

“The ballots papers are long, so it takes more time to unfold them,” said city spokesperson Nathalie Lussier in explaining the delay.

Initial results, which started to pop up around 9 p.m., at first showed Gobé as leading in the polls. It didn’t take long, though, for the tide to turn and show ML as taking the lead, with the gap between Demers and Gobé increasing as each new ballot box was opened.

(i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o),

ga(‘create’, ‘UA-45892555-1’, ‘’);
ga(‘send’, ‘pageview’);

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial