Thirty-five municipalities have joined Couronne ouest

By Kevin Woodhouse

The municipalities of the West Island and off-island, 35 in all, have recently teamed up to form the non-profit association known as Couronne ouest that became a legal entity on Feb. 21 where a meeting took place in Pointe Claire.

The address for Couronne ouest is officially that of the offices of the Municipalité régionale de comté (MRC) Vaudreuil-Soulanges in Vaudreuil-Dorion with Baie d’Urfe Mayor Maria Tutino serving as the association’s vice-president.

The group encompasses an area of over 1,200 and a total of 421,150 residents. The idea of the group is to be able to defend interests of residents for large scale concerns such as bringing the Train De l’ouest project to fruition and to deal with common issues like health, education and infrastructure with governmental agencies.

The group will use its numbers to lobby for important dossiers as well as, according to a press release from the group, “adopt a definite position on files of com- mon interests” as well as “sharing information relative to the Couronne ouest.”

Members include Lachine Borough Mayor Claude Dauphin, Pointe Claire Mayor Bill McMurchie, Francis Deroo, mayor of Ste. Anne de Bellevue as well as off-island mayors such as Yvan Cardinal of Pincourt, Vaudreuil’s Guy Pilon and Aline Guillotte, mayor of the Ste. Marthe municipality.

And while the group is in its infancy, Tutino already feels that”the renewal of our municipalities’ collaboration regarding the Train de l’ouest project shows that together, the West Island and Vaudreuil-Soulanges are a united front that cannot be ignored.”

(i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o),

ga(‘create’, ‘UA-45892555-1’, ‘’);
ga(‘send’, ‘pageview’);

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial