Sainte Anne de Bellevue swearing-in

By Kevin Woodhouse

In the past, citizens had crowded into Harpell Hall in Sainte Anne de Bellevue to voice their displeasure about how the city administration was handling such issues as the closed exit or expensive outdoor toilets. But Monday night, the capacity crowd were on hand to welcome Mayor Paola Hawa and the new council for the next mandate.

Director General Martin Bonhomme served as master of ceremonies as Town Clerk Lucie Gendron swore in the new mayor and council.

Hawa received a very warm round of applause and she wasted no time thanking her family, volunteers and friends who had supported her throughout her campaign. “Thank you to all the electors who gave me their confidence and I accept the position with humility,” Hawa told the assembled.

“We made history by electing the first ever female mayor in our town’s history,” Hawa said to another warm round of applause. “And like our predecessors, we are here because we have a desire to serve this unique community.”

Aling with Hawa, District two councilor Ryan Young is the only other familiar face as all other incumbent councilors who ran lost their seats. Replacing them are Dana Chevalier in district one, Andree Deschamps in district three, Daniel Boyer of district four, and district five and six’s Yvan Labelle and Michel Goudreault who all took their turn to sign in as councilors as well as signing the city’s big book.

Following the swearing in ceremony, an assortment of local wine and cheese was served to the capacity crowd.

(i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o),

ga(‘create’, ‘UA-45892555-1’, ‘’);
ga(‘send’, ‘pageview’);

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial