Coderre, Joly, Bergeron and Barbe

Candidates announced in LaSalle

By Tracey Arial

Last week, most of the major candidates announced who would run for them in the LaSalle Borough, except for Marcel Côté, Denis Coderre and Mélanie Joly announced five candidates each. Current mayor Manon Barbe and Richard Bergeron both announced their full line-ups.

Michael Vadacchino, who is a Sutton Real Estate Agent and who ran for Mayor in 2009, will also run in LaSalle. His Parti alternatif LaSalle Alternative Party is still waiting to be authorized.

Although several parties were soliciting the Parti ville LaSalle–Équipe Moreno Team led by Francisco Moreno, Moreno decided to run under Mélanie Joly.

“She’s promised that we’ll be able to focus on taking care of LaSalle properly,” said Moreno about his decision. “Projet Montreal wanted every place to be run like the Plateau and Rosemont. Coderre planned to enforce central city decisions on LaSalle. This is a different place. We don’t have the transportation options of other boroughs. There are more families. We need to do things differently here.”

Moreno’s team includes Yves Daoust, Steven Laperrière and Éric Tremblay, all of whom quit Projet Montréal last March to create a locally-focussed organization. It also includes Michel Benoit, who was going to run for Montreal mayor, but has now decided to run as a city councillor in LaSalle.

Denis Coderre also announced five candidates in LaSalle last week. His team will be run by Jean François Labbé who will run for mayor. Carlo D’Ambrosio will run for city councillor and Daniela Romeno for borough councillor in the district of Sault St. Louis. Monique Vallée will run for city councillor and Anju Dhillon will run for borough councillor in the district of Cecil P. Newman.

Mayor Manon Barbe will run for reelection under her own banner, Pro action LaSalle–Équipe Barbe Team. Current Councillors Richard Deschamps, Laura Palestini and Josée Troilo will also run for re-election with the Barbe Team. New members of the team include Luciano Di Sante, Nancy Blanchet and Serge Declos.

Richard Bergeron’s team will be led by Patrick Asch for LaSalle borough mayor. Monika Niedbalski will run for city councillor in the district of Sault St. Louis. Patrizia Buffone and Romarick Okou will run for borough councillors. In the Cecil P. Newman district, Yosef Azzouni will run for city councillor and Amir Khan and Mody Maka Barry will run for borough councillor.

(i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o),

ga(‘create’, ‘UA-45892555-1’, ‘’);
ga(‘send’, ‘pageview’);

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial